Electronic tax

Apple Updates Taxes and Prices for App Store in Ukraine, Zimbabwe, and Others

AppleInsider is supported by its audience and can earn commission as an Amazon Associate and Affiliate Partner on qualifying purchases. These affiliate partnerships do not influence our editorial content.

Apple on Wednesday released an updated price list and to make adjustments for apps and in-app purchases sold through the App Store in some regions.

Some regions will see their prices increase as Apple updates value-added taxes (VAT) and taxes on digital services. The areas affected by the price increases are:

  • Bahrain: Increase in value added tax from 5% to 10%
  • Ukraine: New 20% value added tax
  • Zimbabwe: New 5% digital services tax

Prices for the following regions will not change, but developers will receive income adjusted based on the following tax changes:

  • Bahamas: Decrease in value added tax from 12% to 10%
  • Oman: New 5% value added tax
  • Tajikistan: Decrease in value added tax from 18% to 15%

For developers in the regions below, revenue will be adjusted accordingly to reflect tax changes for specific types of content, including eBooks, eBooks, and Audiobooks:

  • Austria: Value added tax rate returned to 10% after temporary reduction to 5% for qualifying e-books and audiobooks
  • Latvia: Decrease in the rate of value added tax from 21% to 5% for eligible e-books and e-publications
  • Romania: Decrease in the rate of value added tax from 19% to 5% for eligible eBooks, audiobooks and electronic publications

Apple encourages developers to review the Pricing and Availability section in My Apps once the changes take effect. Developers are reminded that they can change the price of their apps and in-app purchases in App Store Connect.

Apple recently announced its intention to allow alternative payment systems in South Korea. The new system is being put in place to comply with a new law that prohibits tech companies from forcing first-party payment systems on developers.